Guitar recommendation needed

Collings Fan

Guitar recommendation needed

Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:08 am

First off, thank you to the folks responsible for bringing back the Collings Guitar forum. It is much appreciated!

I'd like to purchase a Collings electric guitar, but I'm having trouble deciding which model would be best for me. (I'm not a professional musician, btw).

I intend to play mostly classic rock with the Collings guitar. I enjoy listening to and playing a wide variety of artists including The Eagles, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Tom Petty, Dire Straits/Mark Knoppler, Bob Seger, Bruce Springsteen, and many other classic rock artists from the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's. I enjoy some blues; don't play jazz really, and don't care for heavy metal, punk, etc.

Obviously not any 1 guitar can really replicate all the sounds by these and other artists. But I think I'd like a pretty versatile Collings electric that can sound reasonably good on a wide range of classic rock music. At first, I was thinking the Collings 360 ST might fit the bill cause I've always liked the single coil sounds of most Fender Strats, and they are pretty versatile. But then I read about the 290's, the CLs, and even the I-35LC and now I'm thoroughly confused which direction I should be looking.

I'd appreciate any advice on which Collings models (and pickups?) I should focus on....
THanks in advance.

FreeBlues

Re: Guitar recommendation needed

Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:03 pm

Tough question. As you know, there is a lot more that goes into the equation than just the guitar - amp, effects, player, etc. In fact, I'd say the guitar is maybe the least important variable in the equation.