Model info denotion

Hobbswherescalvin

Model info denotion

Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:12 am

After 17 years as a certified luthier, im finally able to afford owning a high end acoustic. Ha!

I worked as a martin warranty tech, as well as, a number of other companies while living in santa cruz. i rarely came across a collings though, sadly.

I was recently offered a Collings OM2HBaA

After searching on the subject, ive found it hard to figure out exactly what BaA stands for, as well as, the other denotions. Such as BbA.

I was curious if there was a chart or if someone could simply go over what these refer to, i have the general idea that it means brazilian rosewood and Adirondack top.. i think, at least that what it seems like when i look at the guitar. But how does one know. What does BbA stand for.

Thanks for the info in advanced.
Attachments
A26C2A06-3517-4ACF-9C32-113F1BE582BE.jpeg
22ED5E86-B1D1-42DD-882D-45AD8D01A0F7.jpeg
28CBBE1D-F29E-46C3-81B3-9A0F3625AA9B.jpeg

maplebaby

Re: Model info denotion

Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:10 am

According to the sticker inside your guitar you have a OM2H as you ‘base’ guitar - meaning body size is OM - 2 meaning the kind of appointments it has, H meaning Herringbone.

The big B means Brazilian Rosewood back/sides, the little ‘a’ is the grade or quality is the rosewood. Brazilian Rosewood is graded by Collings as singing, double or triple ‘a’ with single a being the least of the grades. As you’ve said the large ‘A’ means the guitar has an Adirondack top.

Congratulations on having a very nice Collings, although when your guitar was built the folks at Collings gave the BR an ‘a’ rating that is relative to some degree. By that I mean it’s relative to what was generally available at that time.

Looking at your pictures I would say by today’s standards of BR your guitar might merit a higher rating for its back and sides.

Enjoy!
dale

Greg Y

Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:12 am